DUI Involving an Accident – Arizona
In Arizona, 4.63% of all car crashes (aka 5,620) are alcohol-related. And of those crashes, 215 were fatal. While first-time DUI offenses in Arizona are generally considered class 1 misdemeanors, offenders might be charged with a felony if someone is killed or injured.
When receiving a DUI involving an accident – Arizona, charges are determined based on the specific circumstances. Keep reading to learn what those are and how they affect you.
Potential Charges for a DUI Involving an Accident – Arizona
Facing a DUI involving an accident – Arizona? If that’s the case, there are a variety of potential charges that include:
- Aggravated Assault
- Second-Degree Murder
The law regards a vehicle is seen as readily capable of causing serious damage and personal injury. When someone is charged with a dangerous felony offense, they are sentenced to time in prison without probation.
Can You Be Charged with Endangerment If No One Was Injured?
In short, the answer is yes. In Arizona, a person can be charged with endangerment if they recklessly endanger another person with a substantial risk of either a) imminent death or b) physical injury.
If someone is charged with endangerment due to a substantial risk of imminent death, it’s considered a class 6 felony. On the other hand, if someone is charged due to a substantial risk of physical injury, it’s considered a class 1 misdemeanor.
What Is the Punishment for Endangerment?
The punishment for endangerment varies depending on the specifics of the charge. For example, if the endangerment charge is considered a class 1 misdemeanor, the offender receives:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- A fine of up to $2,500
- Up to 3 years of probation
However, if the Endangerment charge is considered a class 6 felony, the punishment includes:
- A fine of up to $150,000
- Up to 3 years of probation
- A 1-year license revocation
- 4 months to 2 years in prison
And of course, the range of potential punishments increases for those with prior felony convictions.
What Happens When Someone Is Injured in a DUI Accident?
If someone is in a DUI Involving an Accident – Arizona and seriously injures another person, the offender will likely be charged with Aggravated Assault. Generally, this is considered a class 3 felony, where the punishment is a mandatory prison sentence ranging from 5 to 15 years — even for first-time offenders. Not only that, but your driver’s license gets revoked for 3 years.
Best DUI Attorney in Phoenix, Arizona
If you or a loved one has been in a DUI involving an accident – Arizona, the criminal defense attorneys at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed are here for you. Arizona has some of the harshest sentencing standards in the U.S. However, our legal team brings the level of experience, aggressiveness, and knowledge to defend your case to the best possible outcome.
Ready to get started? Contact our team for your free, no-obligation consultation today.