DUI in Arizona First Offense
Were you or a loved one recently arrested for a DUI in Arizona as a first offense? We understand how overwhelming and scary this can feel. If this is your first time going through an arrest for Arizona DUI, you likely have questions and concerns about what it means for your future.
Facing DUI charges is not something you should deal with on your own. Not only is a criminal defense attorney well-versed in Arizona law, but they can walk you step-by-step through the DUI process and advocate for your rights and freedoms along the way.
As Arizona’s leading criminal defense attorneys, we can help you navigate your DUI case with dedication and professionalism. Stay tuned to learn what you need to know about getting a DUI in Arizona First-Offense.
Understanding Arizona DUI Laws
In Arizona, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs means you are:
- – Driving with a 0.08 blood alcohol content (BAC)
- – Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, even if you have a lower BAC.
Therefore, showing impairment while driving is all it takes to be charged with a DUI in Arizona (even if you are below the legal limit). Additionally, finding any amount of illegal drugs – or prescription drugs that impair your ability to drive – in your system can form the basis of a DUI arrest.
In Arizona, there are three classes of DUI that coincide with various BAC levels:
- – DUI – BAC of 0.08 to 0.149
- – Extreme DUI – BAC of 0.15 to 0.199
- – Super Extreme DUI – BAC of 0.20 and above
First Offense DUI Penalties
A First Offense DUI in Arizona is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. Therefore, this charge carries the following punishments:
- – 90-day driver’s license suspension;
- – An ignition interlock device (IID) for one year;
- – Drug and alcohol screening, education, or treatment;
- – Traffic survival school course; and
- – Possibly community service
The possible jail times and fine amounts for a DUI in Arizona first offence often depend on the class of DUI:
- – DUI – Up to 10 days in jail and a $1,250 fine plus surcharges.
- – Extreme DUI – 30 consecutive days in jail and a $2,500 fine plus surcharges.
- – Super Extreme DUI – 45 days in jail and a $2,750 fine plus surcharges.
Aggravated DUI Penalties
Aggravated DUI charges are not often given to first-time defendants. However, certain situations (such as driving under the influence in the presence of a minor under the age of 15) will prompt such. Aggravated DUI charges have incredibly harsh penalties that include:
- – Up to 2 years in jail;
- – Mandatory alcohol screening, education, or treatment;
- – Mandatory installation of a certified ignition interlock device on any wheel you operate;
- – Community service.
Top Criminal Defense Attorneys in Phoenix, Arizona
DUI charges are incredibly serious criminal defenses. Therefore, it’s important that you treat them as such – even if it’s your first time. A criminal defense attorney can help you understand the type of DUI charge you are facing and come up with a strategy.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a first-time DUI in Arizona, The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed is the best in the business. Not only are we experts in Arizona law, but we utilize aggressive, compassionate representation that guarantees optimal outcomes for our clients.
Contact our team to schedule your complimentary, no-obligation consultation today.