Can a 16-Year-Old Drive with Friends in Arizona?
One of the main perks of finally learning how to drive is being able to drive your friends around. Even the most mundane of errands can be a blast when you’re a newly licensed driver experiencing freedom and the open road for the first time ever.
This begs an important question: can a 16-year-old drive with friends in Arizona? Today, our skilled attorneys at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed will be answering that question. Whether you’re newly licensed or a seasoned driver, it’s important to understand the rules of the road.
Driver’s License Laws in Arizona
In the state of Arizona, once you graduate from a learner’s permit to a driver’s license, there is a set of restrictions you must abide by for the first six months. These restrictions are as follows:
- With some exception, you may not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.
- You are responsible for ensuring that your passengers have their seatbelt on
- Use of hand-held communication devices is strictly prohibited
- Unless your parent or legal guardian is in the passenger seat, you may only have one non-family passenger under the age of 18 in the vehicle
For the sake of our key question ‘can a 16-year-old drive with friends in Arizona’ it’s important to pay close attention to that last item on the list. For the first six months of being a licensed driver, you may only drive with one non-family passenger under the age of 18, unless a parent or legal guardian is also with you.
So, as a 16-year-old licensed driver in Arizona, you may only drive with multiple friends after the first six months of having your license. Once you’ve gotten through those first six months without any violations, you are free to safely drive your friends around. Then, at age 18, you will be eligible to apply for your Class D driver’s license.
Penalties for Teen Driving Violations in Arizona
In the event that you get pulled over for speeding, running a stop sign or red light, or violating any of the aforementioned restrictions, you are at risk of having your driver’s license revoked. Furthermore, that six-month probationary period of restriction can be extended if you are found guilty of negligence while driving.
It is important to follow this rule regarding the number of allowed passengers as a car full of rowdy friends opens the door for distractions galore. As a new driver, it is essential that you maintain your focus on the road to ensure the safety of yourself, your passengers, and everyone else on the road.
Top Personal Injury Lawyers in Phoenix, AZ
If you or a loved one has been involved in a car accident or gotten a ticket, the first step is to consult with a skilled Phoenix personal injury lawyer. With our dedicated team of lawyers on your case, you are guaranteed the Aggressive Compassionate Representation we are famous for.
This approach promises aggressive pursuit of the best possible outcome, as well as the utmost compassion for you and your family. Contact us today with any questions you might have or to set up a free consultation with one of our legal experts.