Arizona Seat Belt Laws
When you slide into the seat of a motor vehicle, your first move should always be to click your seat belt into place. For many of us, this is an immediate instinct. For others, their car’s beeping seatbelt signal reminds them to buckle up. We know to wear our seat belts, but why? And what exactly are the Arizona seat belt laws?
Arizona seat belt laws are intended to keep drivers and passengers safe and sound while traveling in the Grand Canyon State. According to the most recent data from the NHTSA, seat belts lower the risk of serious physical injury by up to 50 percent and cut the risk of death by up to 45 percent.
Today, our car accident attorneys are explaining everything you need to know about seat belt laws in Arizona so you can stay safe and avoid fines while on the road.
Seat Belt Laws in Arizona
The driver and all front-seat passengers must wear a properly fastened chest and waist strap while traveling in this secondary seat belt state. By law, back-seat passengers are not required to wear a seat belt. However, this back-seat exception does not pertain to children.
In Arizona, all passengers under the age of 16 years must buckle up regardless of where they are seated. If you’re driving with a child and they have not fastened their seat belt, you’re responsible and law enforcement can ticket you for seat belt offenses.
Anyone traveling in the front seat of a motor vehicle should always wear a seat belt and law enforcement can ticket you if they catch you in motion without one.
Child Car Seat Requirements in Arizona
For minors between the ages of 1 and 4 years old, Arizona car seat laws require that minors should sit in a front-facing seat. Children between 5 and 7 years old should use booster seats. Once the child reaches 8 years of age, they can sit in the vehicle without a booster seat or car seat, but they must wear a seat belt at all times.
Consequences of Violating Arizona Seat Belt Laws
In Arizona, the fines for violating seat belt laws will vary depending on the number of people not using them. The first offense usually attracts a minuscule fine of $10 for each passenger. If there are any kids under the age of 5 years old in the vehicle who are not secured in a car safety seat, you’ll be subject to a minimum fine of $50 dollars.
Because Arizona is a secondary seat belt state, you cannot be pulled over solely for not wearing a seat belt. You must have committed another traffic offense first. The fines associated with Arizona seat belt laws might seem relatively minor, but if you are involved in an accident, the medical costs and losses could be much higher.
Reasons for Wearing Seat Belts
The injury and choking hazards associated with the improper use of seat belts are significantly high. It’s important to use the correct restraint for your child’s age, weight, and height. Seat belts are designed to secure drivers and passengers against the dangerous movements that could occur during a sudden stop or car crash.
Adults and children alike should wear a seat belt at all times when riding in a motor vehicle. Wearing a car seat belt could be the difference between you or a loved one walking away from an accident relatively unscathed and facing severe injuries or even death. Protect yourself, your loved ones, and other drivers on the road by buckling up.
Expert Car Accident Attorneys in Phoenix, AZ
Unfortunately, many people experience pain and suffering in car accidents, even while complying with Arizona seat belt laws. If you or someone you care about has been injured in a car accident, it’s important to consult with a skilled car accident attorney as quickly as possible.
We utilize our Aggressive Compassionate Representation to ensure that you are treated with the utmost compassion while we aggressively pursue the best outcome for your case. Contact our Phoenix car accident attorneys today for more information or to schedule a free consultation.