Arizona Car Accident Laws
Vehicle accidents are a common occurrence in Phoenix, Arizona, with recent studies showing over 40,000 accidents in 2021 alone. When it comes to handling the aftermath of a car accident in Arizona, you want to be aware of the main laws in effect.
If you’re interested in learning more about accident reporting, comparative negligence, and the statute of limitations surrounding Arizona car accidents, this blog is for you.
Do You Need to Report the Accident?
Arizona laws don’t require individuals to personally report the incident. However, if any of the following occur, law enforcement officials are required to generate a written report:
- Property damage that exceeds $1,000
- Citations issued to any involved parties
Even if you don’t plan on personally reporting the incident, you must remain on the scene until all necessary information is exchanged. Fleeing the scene might upgrade your small fender-bender to a hit and run misdemeanor or felony.
A hit and run misdemeanor occurs when you cause damage to another vehicle and fail to stop, while failing to stop after an accident that causes physical injury is classified as a hit and run felony.
How Does Comparative Negligence Work?
Often, car accidents aren’t the fault of just one party, which is why Arizona laws follow comparative negligence. Individuals that share responsibility for car accidents can recover compensation for their losses, even if they are the majority at fault. Comparative negligence percentages are determined by the court after reviewing all of the facts surrounding the accident.
This means if a driver is 95% at fault, they can still receive compensation. However, any compensation they receive will be reduced by their negligence percentage. Let’s say that you sustain $5,000 worth of vehicle damage and you are found 25% at fault. You may only receive up to 75% of the damage amount or $3,750.
What is the Statute of Limitations?
One of the most important car accident laws that Arizona enforces is a statute of limitations. Those involved in a car accident have two years from the date of the accident to report the incident to insurance carriers. Any claims after this deadline will most likely be denied and you will be responsible for repairs.
Additionally, if you are bringing a personal injury lawsuit against another involved party, you need to have your case filed by the two-year deadline. If you miss your window, you will most likely lose your ability to recover compensation for your losses. This is why it’s important that you contact a qualified Phoenix attorney as soon as possible.
Finding the Right Attorney
Whether you were the cause of a car accident or a victim, it’s important that you partner with the right attorney. Our legal team at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed understands that mistakes happen.
We want to work alongside you to find the most favorable outcome for your situation, regardless of which side of the fence you are on. Contact our team to schedule a consultation today.