Driving on a Suspended License in Arizona
With natural beauty at every turn, driving in Arizona can be a beautiful and relaxing experience. That is, unless you get pulled over with a suspended license. Driving on a suspended license in Arizona is, in fact, against the law. But what exactly does this mean? What happens if you get caught driving on a suspended license in Arizona?
Today, our team of experienced traffic offense attorneys is sharing everything you need to know about driving on a suspended license in the Grand Canyon State. From potential penalties to viable defenses, we’ve got it all covered. Should you ever find yourself indicted for this offense, know that The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed is here to help.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Arizona
Driving on a suspended license in Arizona is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Therefore, if you are pulled over by a police officer and it is found that your license has been suspended, the officer is permitted by law to arrest you.
In this event, your vehicle can legally be impounded for up to 30 days. Subsequently, you can be charged in court and face a maximum punishment of up to 6 months jail, 3 years of probation, and/or over $4000 in fines and surcharges.
Charge Dismissal for Driving on a Suspended License in Arizona
A judge has the authority to dismiss charges filed against a person for driving with a suspended license in Arizona. However, this dismissal can only occur if your license was suspended on the grounds of unpaid traffic fines. If this is the case, you may be permitted to pay the outstanding fines and have your license restored.
Viable Defenses for Driving on a Suspended License in Arizona
Below are the viable defenses for driving on a suspended license in Arizona, explained.
- Absence of Criminal Intent: This is the most relied-on defense in cases of suspended licenses. Its effectiveness lies in the fact that driving on a suspended license is not a strict liability crime. The State has to prove that you had notice of the suspension. This defense comes to play when it can be proven that no notice of a suspended license was received by the accused person. Basically, this tells the court that you had no idea your license was suspended to begin with.
- Insufficient Notice from the DMV: In the event that your license is suspended, the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) is expected to mail a notice of suspension or revocation to your last known address. However, if it can be shown that they failed to give adequate notice, then your case can be dismissed.
- No Evidence of Driving: If you were charged for driving on a suspended license but were not seen driving or there is not sufficient evidence to prove that you were driving, your case can be dismissed.
- Rights Violation: If there was no reason for you getting pulled over, an incidence of statements obtained illegally, denial of access to counsel, or any other kind of rights violation, this can provide reasonable grounds for case dismissal.
Top Criminal Defense Law Firm in Phoenix, AZ
Here at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed, our award-winning team of Phoenix lawyers provides exceptional services for misdemeanors, traffic offenses, DUIs, and more. If you find yourself facing charges for driving on a suspended license in Arizona, it’s important to contact a skilled criminal defense attorney.
When you work with us, you will have the assurance of a strong criminal defense attorney defending your rights. If you or a loved one are facing misdemeanor charges in Arizona, contact us today to schedule a free consultation.