What Happens When You Get a DUI in Arizona?
If you or a loved one has recently been pulled over after driving under the influence, you might be asking yourself this difficult question. Fortunately, the legal team at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed has answers. Keep reading to find out everything you need to know about what happens when you get a DUI in Arizona.
What Is a DUI?
Before we cover what happens when you get a DUI in Arizona, let’s make sure we’re on the same page about what a DUI is. In Arizona, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs means that:
- – You are driving with a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or higher; or
- – You are driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs even to the slightest degree and even if you have a low BAC.
Therefore, you can be driving “safely” and still receive a DUI if an officer decides to pull you over and discovers that your BAC is above 0.08 percent. Similarly, you can be charged with a DUI if you are driving recklessly, even if your BAC is below the legal limit.
Penalties For a First-Time DUI in Arizona
In Arizona, all first-time DUIs are classified as class-1 misdemeanors. As a result, they carry the following charges:
- – 90-day revocation of your license;
- – An ignition interlock device (IID) for 1 year;
- – Drug and alcohol screening, education, or treatment;
- – Traffic survival school course; and
- – Possibly community service
Additionally, you will encounter the following:
- – BAC .08 to .149 – 10 days in jail and at least $1,250 in fines and surcharges.
- – BAC .15 to .199 – 30 consecutive days in jail and about $2,500 in fines and surcharges.
- – BAC .20 or higher – 45 days in jail and at least $2,750 in fines and surcharges.
Defense Strategies for DUIs
There are many defense strategies that your criminal defense attorney can use to get your DUI case dropped. Here are some common examples:
- – Defendant was not in physical control of the vehicle.
- – Police officers had no reasonable suspicion to make the traffic stop.
- – Instructions the police gave for sobriety tests were wrong.
- – Arrest was not based on probable cause.
- – Breath test was conducted without a 15-minute observation period.
- – The breathalyzer was inaccurate.
- – Blood test samples were contaminated.
- – Defendant suffered from a medical condition that caused the breathalyzer to return inaccurate results.
Best Criminal Defense Attorneys in Phoenix
If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI in Arizona, our skilled legal team can help. There are many types of DUI cases in Arizona. With ample experience in criminal law, our team can assess the charge you’re facing, explain the associated penalties, and provide the best strategy for your specific defense.
Working with a reputable criminal defense attorney will ensure that your DUI charges yield the best possible outcome. If you’re ready to put your best foot forward, contact our team for your complimentary, no-obligation consultation today.