What Are the Arizona Teen Driving Laws?
We all know how exciting it can be to learn how to drive. It’s your first taste of the open road and the freedom that comes with it. That being said, it’s vital that you understand the Arizona driving laws before you get behind the wheel and crank up the tunes.
Learning your state’s driving laws is imperative for ensuring not only your safety, but that of everyone else on the road with you. So, what are the Arizona teen driving laws? Our team of skilled Arizona personal injury lawyers are here to explain them for you.
Arizona Learner’s Permit and Driver’s License Laws
Once you hit 15 ½ years of age in Arizona, you are eligible to apply for your learner’s permit. You can acquire this by passing both a vision exam and a written driver’s knowledge test.
While you have your permit, you can only drive with a licensed driver over the age of 21 with you. If pulled over alone with only a permit in Arizona, you could face a class 2 misdemeanor with the potential of hefty fines, community service, and even jail time.
At the age of 16, you can apply for your driver’s license, also known as a graduated driver’s license (Class G). After having your permit for at least six months, completing 30 hours of supervised practice driving, and passing a driving test with an examiner from the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD), you will get your driver’s license.
Important Rules of the Road
For the first six months of having your driver’s license, consider yourself on probation. Don’t worry, it’s not a bad thing. It means that during these six months, there are special restrictions placed on new drivers. These restrictions include the following:
- With some exception, you may not drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m.
- You may not use any hand-held communication devices while driving
- You are responsible for ensuring that your passengers wear their seatbelts
- Unless you’re driving with a parent or guardian in the passenger seat, you may only drive with one non-family passenger under the age of 18
Outside of the previous restrictions, here are some more Arizona driving laws to be familiar with:
- The Move-Over Law states that if there is a disabled vehicle and/or emergency vehicle on the shoulder, you must move over to allow at least a lane of traffic between you and the vehicles on the shoulder, whenever possible.
- If you are pulled over for distracted driving (eating, applying make-up, looking at your phone, etc.) and speeding while doing so in the state of Arizona, the officer will give you a ticket.
- In 2019, Arizona became the 48th state to prohibit the use of cell phones while driving. If you are pulled over for using your cell phone, you will face a fine of between $75 and $149 for the first offense, and between $150 and $250 for each one thereafter.
Top Personal Injury Lawyers in Phoenix, AZ
If you or a loved one has been involved in an accident or received a ticket, it’s important to reach out to a licensed Phoenix personal injury attorney. When you work with the experts at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed, you are guaranteed the Aggressive Compassionate Representation our clients respect us for.
We will aggressively pursue the best possible outcome for your case, while treating you and your family with the utmost respect and compassion. Contact us today to set up a free consultation with one of our top Phoenix personal injury lawyers.