Did you know there were 121,345 car accidents in Arizona in 2021? This is approximately 22.45% higher than the total number of crashes in 2020, and unfortunately, statistics show those numbers will likely continue to rise.
Car accidents can occur as a result of many reasons. But what’s usually the cause? As expert car accident attorneys, we can attest that knowing the leading causes of accidents is the easiest way to prevent them. So, before you start typing ‘why do most car accidents happen’ into your search bar, check out this blog post to find out.
If you ask yourself ‘why do most car accidents happen,’ speeding is probably one of the first reasons to come to mind. Because a driver’s reaction time and ability to control their vehicle are reduced, the risk of dying in a car crash doubles with every 10 mph of increased speed.
Impaired driving refers to driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Because alcohol consumption reduces brain function, impairs thinking, diminishes reasoning, and decreases muscle coordination, alcohol-related crashes accounted for 4.63% of all crashes and 20.23% of all fatal crashes in 2021.
Distracted drivers are another cause of car accidents in Arizona. Typically, distractions consist of sending text messages, talking on your cell phone, or using a navigation system. In Arizona, it is illegal to talk or text on a cell phone while driving (unless it is in hands-free mode). However, even legal activities such as eating while driving can distract drivers enough to cause an accident.
Car Accident Personal Injury Claims
Why do most car accidents happen? Distracted driving and speeding are the most common causes across the nation. However, regardless of the cause, getting into an accident often has a life-changing impact on victims and their families.
While nothing can make up for the trauma car accidents cause, filing a personal injury claim can lighten the stressful burdens of medical expenses, rehabilitation costs, loss of career and related wages, and reduced quality of life.
Unsure of how to navigate the claims process? That’s what The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed is here for. Our expert personal injury attorneys will diligently represent your case and work to pursue the maximum allowable compensation for your injuries.
Call a Car Accident Attorney in Phoenix, AZ
Regardless of how accidents happen, navigating the aftermath can be overwhelming, confusing, and downright frustrating. The best way to ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve is to enlist the help of an experienced car accident attorney.
If you or a loved one has been in a car accident in Phoenix, our team is here for you. Our car accident attorneys are well-versed in Arizona traffic law and have ample experience navigating insurance claims. We are passionate about fighting for your well-being and we won’t stop until you receive the compensation you deserve.
Contact our team to request your free, no-obligation consultation today.
During the aftermath of an Arizona car accident, it’s only natural to wonder how much money you can expect to receive for your injuries and damages. In fact, one of the most common questions we hear as car accident attorneys is “what is the average settlement for a car accident in Arizona?”
While the average settlement amount for Arizona car accidents ranges from $10,000 to $30,000, the amount you will receive depends on many factors. As your attorney, we cannot anticipate the exact amount of compensation you will get. We can, however, advise you on the factors that will play a role in your settlement amount.
Factors to Consider in an Arizona Car Accident
Did you know that car accident cases have settled for upwards of a million dollars? If that’s the case, why is the average settlement for a car accident in Arizona under $30,000? Allow us to explain.
The settlement amount you will receive is largely dependent on the severity of your injuries, in addition to other key factors that the insurance company or jury will need to consider when making their decision. Here are some of the factors that may determine your settlement amount:
- Insurance policy limits
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Severity of the injuries
- Property damages
- Whether you were at fault in the accident
Types of Damages in Car Accident Cases
When you’ve been in a car accident, there are often a range of different damages you can face from lost income and hospital bills to depression and reduced quality of life. In Arizona, these various damages are summed up into three types of damages you could recover in a car accident claim:
- Economic Damages – This type of damages covers monetary losses that occur as a result of the accident, like medical expenses, lost wages, and property damage.
- Non-Economic Damages – This type of damages covers non-monetary losses that the plaintiff faces as a direct result of the accident, including both physical and mental forms of pain and suffering.
- Punitive Damages – This is the least common form of damages and comes into play if the defendant is found to have acted intentionally or with gross negligence.
Trusted Phoenix Car Accident Attorneys
When you’ve been involved in an accident, the last thing you want to worry about is how you’re going to pay for your mortgage or groceries on top of medical bills. To ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve, it’s essential to work with an experienced personal injury attorney who can guide you through the claims process.
If you or a loved one have been injured in a car accident due to the negligence of someone else, our Phoenix car accident attorneys are here to support you. With our Aggressive Compassionate Representation, you can depend on our dedicated team to fight aggressively on your behalf while treating you with the compassion and respect you deserve.
Contact us today for a free consultation with a personal injury attorney.
When an individual gets involved in an accident due to the negligence of someone else, they have the power to seek compensation for their property damages, lost wages, and medical expenses. However, many people believe that they should also receive compensation for the physical and emotional pain they faced as a result of the accident.
It’s tough to put a price tag on pain and suffering the same way you can calculate the cost of hospital bills. This often leads to tremendous confusion surrounding pain and suffering in Arizona, which can make it easy for insurance companies to take advantage of the victim. So how is pain and suffering calculated in Arizona? Let’s break it down.
What is Pain and Suffering?
After suffering an injury in an accident, there are two types of pain and suffering that victims experience to some degree. They can be broken down as follows:
- Physical – This involves the physical pain associated with the victim’s injuries, both following the accident and that is expected to continue long-term.
- Mental – This includes the mental and emotional pain that comes as a direct result of the accident, including anger, fear, anxiety, sadness, and humiliation.
Types of Damages in Arizona
In Arizona, the damages involved in a personal injury case are typically either economic or non-economic damages. There is a third type referred to as punitive damages, which are designed to punish the defendant and are only awarded in rare cases where the defendant is found to have acted with an evil hand and mind.
- Economic Damages – These are meant to compensate the victim for the monetary losses associated with the accident, like lost wages and medical expenses.
- Non-Economic Damages – These are meant to compensate the victim for any non-monetary losses associated with the accident and are where pain and suffering enters the equation.
Because there isn’t a bill or receipt to refer to, non-economic damages are more difficult to calculate. How do you put a price tag on someone’s pain and suffering? It all comes down to your ability to show proof of the pain you suffered.
Ways to Prove Pain and Suffering
In Arizona, the courts want to compensate accident victims for their pain and suffering. They look at several factors to calculate the right compensation amount, including the type of injury, treatment, recovery time, and permanence of the injury.
When you work with a Phoenix personal injury attorney to prove your claim, there are several things they might request to help improve your chances. Here are some of the most common ways to prove pain and suffering in Arizona:
- A written statement from a mental health professional
- Testimony from friends and family
- A diary or injury journal
- Medical records (including prescription history)
- Your personal testimony
Reliable Phoenix Personal Injury Attorneys
If you came here wondering “how is pain and suffering calculated in Arizona,” we hope that this post helped to give you a deeper level of understanding on the matter. Whether you or a loved one have been involved in an accident, our skilled personal injury attorneys are here to support you through the claims process.
When you work with our team, you can rest assured that Arizona’s top personal injury lawyers are fighting tirelessly to get the compensation that you deserve. Contact our team for a free consultation today and begin filing your personal injury claim.
Learning what to do after a car accident in Arizona is important in saving you from further stress and hassle in the future. Car accidents are traumatic for all those involved, no matter the scale or repercussions. After getting into an accident, it’s easy to become overwhelmed and unsure of what to do.
The skilled car accident attorneys at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed have compiled this simple guide on what to do after a car accident in Arizona to help guide you through the aftermath. Keep reading to learn everything you need to know.
What To Do Immediately After An Arizona Car Accident
Below you can find advice on what to do immediately following an Arizona car accident.
Stop your vehicle.
A hit-and-run is never good for either party involved in a car accident. Penalties for such actions can amount anywhere from 30 days to more than 12 years in jail. Regardless of how uncomfortable you may feel, the best course of action is to stop immediately and handle the situation.
Check to see if anyone was hurt.
While you may be experiencing a million thoughts at once, it’s crucial to check yourself and the other passengers for any injuries. Arizona state law requires that those involved in an injury-related crash render assistance or call an ambulance.
Call the police.
Even if it was only a minor accident in your eyes, you should always call the police. Reports for injuries and property damage are essential to have on record for possible insurance claims or lawsuits. Share every detail you can remember with the officer who arrives on the scene.
Exchange information and collect evidence.
Don’t forget to exchange your name, address, license, and vehicle registration number with the other driver. Not only is it the law, but this information will prove invaluable if you decide to take legal action for the damage that occurred. Verify the other driver’s information by asking to see their driver’s license and insurance card. During this time, you should also take as many photos as possible and get witness statements if you can.
Addressing the Aftermath of a Car Accident in Arizona
Before speaking with any insurance providers, you should always contact an experienced car accident attorney. This is the most critical step in the aftermath of a car accident, regardless of who was at fault. Insurance adjusters are ruthless when it comes to taking advantage of accident victims, so it’s best to allow your lawyer to speak with them on your behalf to ensure that your best interests are looked out for.
When you meet with your Arizona car accident attorney, be sure to give them all of the evidence you have collected. There is no such thing as too much evidence, and this allows your lawyer to get a better picture of what happened and how to strategize for your case.
Call A Top Arizona Car Accident Attorney Today
With the proper knowledge of what to do after a car accident in Arizona, you can now approach any future incident with the assurance that you are following the correct course of action to protect yourself and everyone involved.
If you find yourself searching for a skilled attorney to navigate a car accident, look no further than the Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed. Contact our team today to request a free consultation and take advantage of the Aggressive Compassionate Representation our clients know us for.
For Phoenix locals involved in a casualty on the road, it’s common to wonder ‘how do I get an accident report in Phoenix, AZ?’ If you were involved in an Arizona car accident that resulted in injuries or over $2,000 in property damage, there should be a police report on file that you can reference. However, you can choose to file a report even without these circumstances, which many people choose to do for protection.
Regardless of the extent of your injuries, it’s important to get a copy of your accident report. This can be incredibly helpful for insurance purposes in the event of a claim and is a valuable piece of evidence that your attorney will need to have in their possession. In today’s post, we are providing advice on how to get an accident report in Phoenix.
Filing An Arizona Car Accident Report
Under Arizona state law, you are required to report any accident involving an injury or death. If the police chooses to investigate, an accident report is then completed if death, injury, or more than $2,000 of property damage occurred. In this police report, you can find the following information about the accident:
- Time and date
- Identification of all parties involved
- A description of the scene
- Investigating officer’s name and information
How to Get a Copy of an Accident Report in Phoenix, AZ
It’s easier than you may think to acquire a copy of your accident report. Sometimes, the reporting officer will provide it to you at the scene. If not, make sure to take down their name and badge number for later. Give your local law office a few days to get everything filed and then reach out to request your copy of the accident report.
If the Arizona Highway Patrol was the first responder, you can also find this document online at the Records Unit of the AZ Department of Public Safety. Complete a request form along with a small fee of $9, then you can obtain a copy to use for a claim.
Using an Accident Report to Support Your Claim in Arizona
When first notified of your claim, an insurance adjuster will take a look at a police accident report. Upon investigation, if they find you partially at fault, they may offer a low settlement. However, we don’t recommend accepting any settlement without first consulting with a skilled Phoenix car accident attorney.
If the police report doesn’t state who is at fault, it is up to the lawyers to come to that determination. As a personal injury law firm, it is our job to prove to the insurance companies or potentially a jury that the other driver is at fault, and an accident report can help to significantly support your case during that time.
Top Car Accident Attorneys in Phoenix, AZ
If you ever find yourself in a car accident, learning how to get an accident report in Phoenix, AZ can make quite the difference in your case. This protects both you and your car from any rebuttals potentially made by the other driver or discrepancies with a claim down the road.
At The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed, we utilize our famous Aggressive Compassionate Representation to fight aggressively for our clients while treating them with the utmost respect and compassion throughout the process. When you work with us, you can rest assured that we will fight to secure the compensation you deserve.
Contact us today for a free consultation with a top Phoenix car accident attorney.
When you are injured in an accident, you can typically file a personal injury lawsuit against the responsible party to receive compensation for damages you sustained. But what happens when the responsible party is a state government entity or employee?
If you have recently suffered from an accident at the hands of a government worker or entity, you may be wondering ‘how do I sue the state of Arizona?’ Filing a personal injury lawsuit against the state government is more complex than a traditional lawsuit and therefore requires the help of a skilled personal injury attorney.
Today, our legal experts are sharing everything you need to know about how to sue the state of Arizona. Stay tuned to learn more about Arizona’s Tort Claims Act and discover how to file a lawsuit against the state government.
What Can I Not Sue For?
Arizona’s Tort Claims Act outlines specific rules regarding what an individual may or may not sue the government over. There are several situations in which the Arizona state government has immunity from lawsuits, so it’s essential to be aware of these before moving forward with the claims process.
How To Sue The State of Arizona
If you want to sue the state of Arizona for an injury you have sustained due to the negligence of a government entity or employee, you must file a claim within 180 days of the date of injury. Regardless of the extent of your injuries, you can lose the ability to recover damages if you do not file within 180 days.
The best way to ensure your success is to begin the claims process immediately following your accident by reaching out to an experienced attorney. When you file your claim, it must include the following:
- A detailed description of the events
- How your injuries occurred
- The amount of money you are claiming
- Facts that support the amount you claim
Once you have filed your claim, the state has 60 days to respond. If they do not respond within this time period, the claim is considered to have been denied and you can then work with your personal injury attorney to file a lawsuit in court.
Trusted Phoenix Personal Injury Attorneys
If you came here wondering “how do I sue the state of Arizona,” we hope that this guide clarified the process for you. If you or a loved one have been involved in an accident due to the negligence of a government entity or employee, our Phoenix personal injury attorneys are here for you. While filing a lawsuit against the state can be a complicated process, it’s much easier with legal experts by your side from start to finish.
With our Aggressive Compassionate Representation, you can count on our team to fight aggressively on your behalf while treating you with the compassion and respect you deserve. We will do everything in our power to ensure a successful outcome for you and your family. Contact us today for a free consultation with a personal injury attorney.
If you are injured in an accident due to the negligence of somebody else, you may want to seek the help of a personal injury attorney to recover damages for your injuries. There are many types of accidents that could require the filing of a personal injury claim, from dog bites and slip-and-falls to car accidents and pedestrian accidents.
Before you begin the claims process with your Phoenix personal injury attorney, it’s important to understand how your attorney will be paid and how much they will take from your settlement. So, how much do lawyers take from settlements in Arizona? Well, that often depends on your lawyer’s contingency fee. Allow us to clear things up for you.
How Are Personal Injury Attorneys Paid in Arizona?
For most personal injury cases in Arizona, your lawyer will operate on a contingency fee. This means that before you begin working together, you will sign an agreement in which you agree to pay the attorney a set percentage of your settlement if they win.
For Arizona lawyers that charge a contingency fee, their payment depends on the outcome of your case. This type of payment structure is favorable to many clients because it means that your attorney only gets paid if you do.
Because your personal injury lawyer’s success is dependent on your success, you can rest assured that they will be highly motivated to win your case. The contingency fee that your lawyer will take varies by state, case type, and individual lawyer. Generally, the percentage ranges from 30-40 percent of the total settlement amount.
Do I Have to Pay If We Lose?
The contingency fee pay structure is a considerable risk to the attorney, who is putting in a significant amount of time and energy without guaranteed payment. However, it’s highly beneficial to the client since you only have to pay up if you win your case.
If you have a signed contingency agreement stating the terms and your case does not result in a monetary award, you do not have to pay your attorney. Before agreeing to work with an Arizona personal injury attorney, read the terms of their contingency agreement and consider them at length.
If the fee seems too good to be true, ask yourself why. Are they inexperienced? Does their track record reflect a lack of success? Check the law firm’s reviews and be sure to ask plenty of questions in your initial consultation to determine whether they are the right fit for you. Working with a reputable law firm is the key to a successful outcome.
Top-Rated Phoenix Personal Injury Attorneys
If you’ve recently been involved in an accident and are searching for a personal injury attorney in Phoenix, look no further than The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed. Our dedicated team of legal experts will guide you through the claims process from start to finish and work tirelessly to ensure that you receive the compensation you are owed.
With our Aggressive Compassionate Representation, you can count on us to fight aggressively on your behalf while treating you with the utmost compassion and respect. Contact us today for a free consultation with a top Phoenix personal injury attorney.
A common question asked by people who find themselves in an accident is: do I need to call the police for an accident in Arizona? What many don’t realize is that in the state of Arizona, you are legally required as a responsible driver to report all incidents on the road.
One of the first things to do after an accident is to call the police, no matter how minimal the damage. The lack of injuries or harm to either the vehicle or individuals involved lead many to believe it is unnecessary, however, the law dictates otherwise.
When involved in an accident, you are also required to stay at the site of the incident until the police arrive. Immediately following an Arizona car accident, we highly recommend contacting an experienced car accident attorney who can represent your best interests and guide you through the insurance claim process.
How An Officer Can Help You
Not only is it required by law to report all accidents, but a report filed by a police officer will help in the future if you decide to file an insurance claim. The report can also aid your case if the other driver involved in the accident tries to dismiss your side.
Sometimes it takes time after the accident to sort through what happened and feel the physical effects of the altercation. In those cases, it’s even more important to have a police report to use as testimony and add credibility to your claim that the injury was in fact caused by the accident.
Otherwise, many insurance providers may disregard your claim since, without a report filed on that day and time, there is little evidence to prove that your injury happened during your car accident.
Giving a Police Report in Arizona
The most useful way you can help a police officer assist you is by giving a detailed report on the events that transpired during the accident. Keep it thorough and truthful, and never place blame on yourself or the other driver involved. Share only what you know is true from your perspective.
Ask for a copy of the report afterward by taking down the officer’s name, contact information, and the number of the report at the scene. In the report, you can find all the details of the incident including the contact information of all parties involved, signs of damage, insurance information, and vehicle details.
Hire A Top Phoenix Car Accident Attorney
So, do you need to call the police for an accident in Arizona? Yes! Regardless of the severity of the accident, calling the police at the scene is always a must.
After experiencing a car accident, it’s common to face a significant amount of stress and confusion as you navigate the aftermath. If you or a loved one have been involved in a car accident, it’s best to contact a skilled Phoenix car accident attorney who can guide you through the process of what to do next. Contact us today for a free consultation with an expert attorney in Phoenix.
After experiencing a car accident, it’s normal to become overwhelmed with a million thoughts and feelings. Regardless of the severity, an accident is scary, stressful, and unpleasant for all involved. However, it’s important to try to remain calm at the scene and take the steps necessary to set yourself up for the most ideal outcome later on.
Filing a police report is one of the most important aspects of navigating a car accident in which injuries or property damage are involved. So, how long do you have to file a police report after a car accident in AZ? Many people are unaware that there’s a time limit here, but it’s crucial to understand that time is of the essence.
First Steps After An Arizona Car Accident
The best thing you can do to protect yourself after a car accident is to call 911 and file an accident report. The officer responding to the scene will take careful note of the situation as they work with the parties involved. These details will be written up as an accident report that you can then later access and share with your lawyer.
While it’s essential to get law enforcement to the scene as soon as possible, it’s even more important to check and help injured victims while you wait. Having emergency and police personnel on-site can then serve as a physical and psychological aid for all parties.
Expect the police and most likely the other driver to ask for your name, contact information, driver’s license, and insurance details. You should ask the same of them as well for documentation purposes, especially in case of an insurance claim.
Promptness is Key
Once everyone has been checked for injuries and damage, you must share with the officer everything that happened so they can write a thorough report. Ideally, this should be done immediately following the accident to ensure that all of the details are as accurate as possible and you can use this report for a future claim.
Without a report, you may not be able to identify the other parties involved or have necessary evidence for your case, should you need one. Insurance companies can even use the lack of a report as a way to claim that the accident never happened or, if it did, that the accident wasn’t serious enough to cause injuries or damage.
Don’t Leave the Accident Site
In the state of Arizona, it’s illegal to leave the scene of an accident before a police officer arrives. Not only that, but it’s vital to remain at the scene so the report can be filed efficiently with the necessary information.
Be clear and concise when speaking with the officer and ask for the report number before you leave. If you are working with a Phoenix car accident attorney, they will be able to help you procure this report at a later time.
How Long Do You Have to File a Police Report After a Car Accident in AZ?
There is a 2-year statute of limitations on car accidents in Arizona, beginning on the date of the incident. This limits the amount of time you have to take legal action against the other party involved in your accident, which is why it’s critical to consult with a skilled attorney as quickly as possible after the matter.
Additionally, law enforcement in Arizona is required to file a report within 24 hours if any of the following circumstances are present:
- Injury or death
- Property damage of over $1,000
- Citations have been issue
Call a Phoenix Car Accident Attorney Today
If you or a loved one have recently been involved in a car accident, our team is here to guide you through the process. With a proven track record of success, the expert Phoenix car accident attorneys at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed are fully equipped to support your family during this difficult time.
Contact us today to request a free consultation with an expert.
Are you or a loved one suffering from an injury caused by someone else’s negligence? Interested in filing a personal injury claim? Hiring a skilled personal injury lawyer is the best way to ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve.
Whether your personal injury was caused by a car accident, medical malpractice, or slip and fall, the skilled Phoenix personal injury attorneys here at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed are here for you. In case you’re wondering whether you should hire a personal injury lawyer for your case, we’ve compiled a few of the top reasons for you.
Here are some of the top benefits of hiring a personal injury lawyer:
You Gain Knowledge and Expertise
The period after sustaining a personal injury can be overwhelming, stressful, and downright confusing. If you aren’t sure where to begin, an experienced personal injury lawyer can guide you through the claims process.
As experts in Arizona accident law, our team at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed will answer all your questions and ensure that your case yields the best possible outcome.
Better Negotiation Skills
Personal injury attorneys are experts at what they do. Not only are they familiar with the tactics that insurance companies use to devalue your claim, but they have the skills and expertise to negotiate effectively on your behalf.
If you try to negotiate your claim on your own, you will likely receive less than you deserve. Working alongside a skilled attorney gives you a much better shot at receiving all the damages you are entitled to.
They Ensure You Receive Medical Attention
Even in the midst of a painful personal injury, many people will avoid seeking medical attention for financial reasons. In addition to ensuring that your medical bills are covered, some personal injury attorneys will even work with healthcare providers to establish an affordable payment plan for you.
They Offer Emotional Support
No one wants to face a personal injury claim alone. While family and friends can offer moral support, hiring a personal injury lawyer alleviates many of the burdens involved in the claims process.
With a skilled attorney advocating on your behalf, you don’t have to worry about ensuring that your rights are accounted for. Our team will work on your case while you work on healing from your injuries.
You Will Receive the Compensation You Deserve
One of the most important benefits of hiring a personal injury lawyer is that they work to ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve. While insurance companies might try to underpay you, a personal injury attorney understands exactly what you’re entitled to and will work diligently to make sure you get it.
Hiring an attorney to advocate on your behalf guarantees that you will not be taken advantage of and that your interests will be accounted for.
Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer in Phoenix, AZ
If you or a loved one has suffered a personal injury due to someone else’s negligence, you are entitled to financial compensation. With our Aggressive Compassionate Representation, you can count on the attorneys at The Law Office of Zayed Al-Sayyed to ensure that you get what you deserve.
Say goodbye to the stress and anxiety that come with navigating a personal injury claim on your own. Our experience attorneys are here to advocate tirelessly on your behalf. Contact our team for your free, no-hassle consultation today.